I’ll do what’s best for my body and you do what’s best for yours…

Alright friends,

If you don’t want to listen to a rant, then close the tab right now because this is gonna be one. Lately I have been following paleo and primal instagram feeds because I am always looking for more variety in my healthy diet. One of the people I follow @paleofatkid started eating Keto and was sharing his experience with his followers. Someone got on and basically told him that the only people who should be telling him how to eat are nutritionists and that he shouldn’t be listening to unqualified people tell him to eat animal fat. That all studies show that animal fat clogs arteries.

Okay. I don’t have all the science to back this up, and I’m not going keto or anything, but I do know what is best for my body. Finally. After years of blood, sweat and tears. Lots of tears. And I am not going to listen to someone tell me that nutritionists know my body better than me. I listened to them for years and all I got out of it was fatter. AND they had the audacity to tell me that I was cheating! Seriously?! No one is more stubborn than me when it comes to doing what is best for my body.

So I ditched the nutritionists. I ditched the doctors. I went to a naturopath and she told me: eat paleo. So I did. And low and behold I got down to a size 14 (from a size 20) and I hadn’t been that small since my third child was born. It was wonderful! And I could have kept going… but I made a huge tactical error.  I let others’ voices creep in again, put doubt in my mind, and I started eating boxed foods, grains, and other convenient “food”. And low an behold… guess who was a size 18 again? Me! Ugh. Why did I let that happen??

So what brought all this on today? Why am I ranting today and not the day the comment was made to @paleofatkid? (Which by the way I stuck up for him too. I gave that person a piece of my mind.) But today? My brother. On Facebook. (Side note–I really don’t like Facebook these days and have narrowed it down to my family only. Ya know. I want to see the cute pics of my nieces and nephews.) He was concerned about my “high-protein-diet” not being safe for me. Oh no. I am not going through that again. I will not listen to someone else tell me what is best for my body. Let’s not even argue the fact that my diet is not a high protein diet. (Did he miss the pic of the counter full of veggies in the blog I posted?) I do not want to go back. I do not want giant bruises because my body is breaking down after feeding it processed garbage that my body can’t recognize as food. I don’t want that brain fog and sluggish I-can’t-seem-to-get-anything-done feeling. Not gonna happen.

Now I know my brother’s concern is out of love, and a misunderstanding of what I am doing. And I don’t love him any less. In fact, today I am going to thank him. Today I was able to stand up for me. Today I was able to be confident that what I am doing is best for me. If you are wondering about what someone is doing and if it is healthy: Ask questions. Become informed. Don’t just comment. You could accidentally be the person who sabotages someone’s good thing.

In the end, I know what is best for my body. And you know what is best for yours. Don’t ever let ANYONE (even family) sway you from doing what is best for you. I have gone down that road too many times and today I say NO. No more. Never again.

Here’s to being healthy for life!

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rée

Leave a Reply

