30 Days and Loads of Learning

I have been thinking about this post for quite some time now. Trying to come up with the perfect reflection for the last 30 days and my lifestyle challenge and I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to say, but I think I know now. It took a couple of days in La Conner away from everyone to really reflect on what I learned about myself and my journey to health.

First, I think that when we think about our bodies, I think we need to love them and appreciate them right now for what they can do for us even when maybe we haven’t treated them as well as we should have been. (Maybe we didn’t even know. Maybe we thought we were doing what was right. I mean… we listened to who we thought were the authorities. Doctors. Nutritionists. The government.) Our bodies function to the best of their abilities no matter what we put in them. Sure, they may store some things as fat, but that’s not their fault. They’re just doing what they need to in order to keep us as healthy as possible. It’s a pretty big miracle if you think about it.

Second, I think we need to eat for the body we have right now, as well as for our future body. And when I say future, think future. I think when we are young and our bodies can process more junk than they can when we are older, we don’t realize that we are feeding the body we will have in the future. The better we feed it today, the better it will be ten, even twenty years from now.

And that goes for exercise too. Staying strong and healthy now will allow you to be strong and healthy in the future. Today as I sat and ate a beautiful lunch of seared rockfish, I watched a lot of elderly couples walk by on the boardwalk. Some seemed pretty darn fit. Others seemed slower and more hunched over. I thought, “I want to be that fit elderly lady right there.” That can’t happen unless I feed my future body what it needs right now. Today.

I can have all the excuses in the world. Money. Time. Anger that my body can’t process things that other bodies can. Frustration that my husband chooses to eat differently than me. But none of those things are going to get me the fit body that I need in order to be walking down that boardwalk with a straight back and strong shoulders when I am seventy.

I want to be able to keep up with my students both mentally and physically. I want to hike with my grandkids like my grandmother did. I want to be able to keep up with them when they visit me in the summer. These things are all obtainable if I eat clean, keep my mind healthy, and move and strengthen my body every day.

So here’s to a new me. A person who loves her body right now, today, for all the wonderful things it can do, and a person who loves her future body for what it can become. Who feeds her body what it needs to be strong and healthy both now, and in the future.

Enjoy the Journey!

Rebecca Rée

Leave a Reply

